Board of Trustees

As an independent school, Harrisburg Academy is governed by a Board of Trustees comprised of community leaders and parents. The Board is responsible for the development of policy and the institution’s fiscal integrity, while overall management is delegated to the head of school. Since 2003-04, the Board has committed itself to an annual self-review and goal-setting in keeping with “best practices” as delineated by the National Association of Independent Schools. The Board uses the responses to this self-review, along with its critique of the administration’s progress toward achieving designated priorities of Growing the Academy Advantage, the school’s current three-year strategic plan, as criteria for developing its goals and those of the head of school for the next school year.

Please note - current trustees should login to access Board-specific materials.


2016-17 Trustees


Keith Clark, President

Javier Idrovo, Vice President and Treasurer

Stacey Zuckerman, Secretary

Linda Barrett

Christine Berger

Christopher Latta
Martha Levine

Rebecca Stevenson McClure '89

Seth Mendelsohn

Stefanie Niles

Mark Parsells '78
David Remmel

Sundhar Sekhar
Robert Sheker

Leigh Ann Urban

Jean Woodworth

Patti Whitley (Parents Association Liaison)

Peter Frengel (Faculty Liaison)


Trustees Emeriti

Marilynn Abrams
Marion Carey Alexander ’59
Albert L. Allen, Jr. ’37*
W. Andrew Bitner
Janet Brownold*
Ernest “Tiger” Burch, Jr. ’56*
Susan DeRemer
Kate Earley
Ram Goel
Ellen L. Hughes, ’64*
Dr. Frank Jackson

Joyce Kantor

Lewis S. Kunkel, Jr.*
Dr. W. Minster Kunkel, Jr. '39*
Terry Lehman
Lewis E. Lehrman ’56
Spencer G. Nauman, Jr. ’51
Lloyd R. Persun ’64
Carroll F. Purdy*
Henry W. Rhoads

Thomas B. Schmidt, III
Randy St. John
Linda Grass Shapiro ’68*
Bonnie Stevenson
Blair Trogner
Stacey Zuckerman


Harrisburg's Only Independent School,
Serving Students Preschool - 12th Grade.

International Baccalaureate Logo

© 2017 Harrisburg Academy, All Rights Reserved
10 Erford Road | Wormleysburg, PA 17043
Tel: 717-763-7811 | Fax: 717-975-0894 | Contact Us